Calling All Entrepreneurs | eNews from OWC

The Grammys are over but the major business awards are just getting started. The most prestigious of all business awards is “EY Entrepreneur Of The Year.” Now in its 31st year, Entrepreneur Of The Year honors successful entrepreneurs in more than 145 cities in 60 countries who demonstrate extraordinary success in areas such as innovation, financial performance and personal commitment.

Download PDF of this issue: Calling All Entrepreneurs

Since its inception, the program has recognized more than 9,000 executives who were estimated to have created over 14 million jobs in 2015 alone, based on the recently released Harvard Business Review report “The Entrepreneur’s Purpose.”

Here are just a few of the benefits that past participants shared:

One of the truly great aspects of the program is its inclusiveness: Anyone can nominate anyone. Many of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year participants are nominated by proud colleagues, their vendors or admirers who think recognition is due. Self-nominations are even welcome. Learn more or submit a nomination today. The deadline for applications is Friday, March 10, 2017.

Full disclosure: Olmstead Williams Communications is a very proud sponsor for Entrepreneur Of The Year. But, that’s not the only reason we love the program. In fact, we’re big proponents of many top award programs. They’re one of the least expensive ways to raise your company’s profile and generate news.

From the Inc. “30 Under 30” and Fast Company’s “Innovation By Design Awards” to industry specific honors such as the “M&A Advisor Awards,” there is an awards program that will help drive your business forward.

Check out this chart of top award programs. We’re always here to brainstorm about these and other programs.

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year award recipients in Greater Los Angeles as revealed last year. The deadline for applications this year is Friday, March 10, 2017. Learn more or submit a nomination today.

February 15th, 2017|Categories: eNewsletter|Tags: , , , , , |

EY's Entrepreneur of the Year San Diego winners

EOY SD winners

From left to right: Rick Haux,Mor Furniture For Less Inc.; Peter Martini and Paul Martini, iboss Network Security; Mike Grey, Lumena Pharmaceuticals; Ted Schroeder, Cadence Pharmaceuticals; Kathleen Sellick, Rady Children’s Hospital; and Sean Gailey, J!NX.

EY announced the winners of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ Award at The Grand Del Mar in San Diego.

The winners are:

  • Technology
    Paul Martini, CEO & CTO and Peter Martini, President & COO, iboss Network Security, San Diego
  • Consumer Services
    Sean Gailey, President & Co-Founder, J!NX, Poway
  • Emerging
    Mike Grey, President & CEO, Lumena Pharmaceuticals, San Diego
  • Life Science
    Ted Schroeder, President & CEO, Cadence Pharmaceuticals, San Diego
  • Family Business
    Rick Haux, President & CEO, Mor Furniture For Less, Inc., San Diego
  • Social Responsibility (non-profit)
    Kathleen Sellick, President & CEO, Rady Children’s Hospital, San Diego
July 8th, 2014|Categories: Client News, Uncategorized|Tags: , , , |

EY announces Entrepreneur of the Year LA Winners

urlThe winners of the  EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ 2014 Greater Los Angeles award were announced in LA at a 700 person black-tie event at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, Calif.

The winners are:

  • Retail & Investment Services
    Curacao – Jerry Azarkman, Co-Founder
  • Technology
    EdgeCast Networks – Alex Kazerani, Chairman & CEO, and James Segil, President
  • Distribution & Manufacturing
    ENI-JR286, Inc. – Jonathan Scott Hirshberg, President & CEO
  • Retail & Consumer Products
    Fuhu, Inc. – Robb Fujioka, Founder & President, and Jim Mitchell, CEO
  • Emerging
    The Honest Company – Jessica Alba, Co-Founder & President, Christopher Gavigan, Co-Founder & Chief Product Officer, Sean Kane, Co-Founder & COO, Brian Lee, Co-Founder & CEO
  • Advertising
    Prodege, LLC/Swagbucks – Josef Gorowitz, CEO
  • Business Services – Ken McBride, Chairman & CEO
  • Consumer Services
    TrueCar, Inc. – Scott Painter, Founder & CEO

See a photo of the winners in the Los Angeles Business Journal:

L.A. Business Seen: Los Angeles business events

July 8th, 2014|Categories: Client News|Tags: , , |

18 finalists for EY Entrepreneur of the Year in Seattle and Portland

The finalists for EY’s Entrepreneur of the Year 2014 in the Pacific Northwest as reported by the Puget Sound Business Journal are:

  • EOYMajdi Daher and Mohamad Daher, 3MD dba Denali Advanced Integration, Redmond, Washington
  • Ryo Kubota, MD, PhD, Acucela, Seattle, Washington
  • Joseph Micallef, Allegro Corporation, Portland, Oregon
  • Ben Billups, Billups Worldwide, Lake Oswego, Oregon
  • Heather Franklin, Blaze Bioscience, Seattle, Washington
  • Leslie Freytag, butter LONDON, Seattle, Washington
  • Forest Key, buuteeq, Seattle, Washington
  • Kathleen Myers, MD, Essia Health, Portland, Oregon
  • Josh Neblett, etailz, Spokane, Washington
  • Raja Mukerji and Jesse Rothstein, ExtraHop Networks, Seattle, Washington
  • Dan Price, Gravity Payments, Seattle, Washington
  • Kyle Stavig, Myers Container, Portland, Oregon
  • Matt Ehrlichman, Porch, Seattle, Washington
  • Luke Kanies, Puppet Labs, Portland, Oregon
  • Glenn Kelman, Redfin, Seattle, Washington
  • Aaron Easterly,, Seattle, Washington
  • Mark Zoske, SaltWorks, Inc., Woodinville, Washington
  • Monty Montoya, SightLife, Seattle, Washington
  • Kevin Klock, TalkingRain, Preston, Washington
  • Joe Whinney, Theo Chocolate, Seattle, Washington
  • Darrell Cavens, zulily, Seattle, Washington

The awards program recognizes entrepreneurial leaders who demonstrate excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to their businesses and communities. Award winners will be announced at a gala on June 20 at the Hyatt Regency Bellevue in Bellevue, Wash.

Read the full article here:

Which entrepreneur might be partying in Palm Springs?

May 6th, 2014|Categories: Client News|Tags: , , |